Skip to main content



The purpose of these guidelines is to provide information and guidelines to Pacific Labour Scheme employers to enable their successful participation in the PLS. They are intended to help employers understand and meet their obligations and…

These guidelines are written for approved employers participating in the Seasonal Worker Programme (SWP). They are intended to help employers understand and meet their obligations and responsibilities as an approved employer detailed in the SWP…

Use this reference guide to prepare your application. All employer applications, including all required documentation, must be completed and submitted via the online application form found on the…

The PALM scheme skills development program provides workers with access to training while they are working in Australia. This application form and guide are for employers to apply for skills development funding on their workers' behalf.

Information for prospective Pacific and Timor-Leste workers on what it is like to work in Australia in the aged care, aquaculture, disability services, horticulture, meat processing and tourism and hospitality sectors.

A guide for Pacific and Timor-Leste workers living in Australia with information on finding a rental property, lease periods and payment, maintenance, furniture, real estate agents and how to be a good housemate.

Superannuation, or super, is Australia’s retirement savings system. When a worker is employed in Australia, the employer has to pay super for them. Super is generally 10.5% of a worker’s salary and is additional to their normal pay. 

A guide for PALM scheme workers in Australia. Everyone has mental health needs. Just like our physical health, we need to look after it.

If you are a Pacific Australia Labour Mobility (PALM) scheme worker, there are people who can support you during your time in Australia.

Graphic poster for printing with information about how workers can stay safe when driving in Australia.

The accommodation must meet the following minimum requirements. Please note, this is intended as a quick reference guide only.

Vanuatu is a Y-shaped archipelago consisting of about 83 relatively small islands. Of these, 65 are inhabited. The archipelago is of volcanic origin and most of the islands are steep, with rocky shorelines and fringing reefs.

The tiny island nation of Tuvalu is made up of 6 atolls and 3 reef islands. It sits mid-way between Australia and Hawaii with a total land area of just 26 km².

Tonga is made up of 169 islands, of which 36 are inhabited. These islands are are divided into 3 main groups – Vava’u, Ha’apai and Tongatapu. Tonga’s total land area is about 750 km².

Solomon Islands (commonly called ‘the Hapi Isles’) is situated approximately 2,000 kms northeast of Australia. It has a land mass of 28,400 km², extending over more than 900 islands.